I International Conference


"Right to Rebellion? A critical perspective from the history of political philosophy between the fifteenth and eighteenth centuries "


 October 21 to 24 2019


Federal University of Mato Grosso do Sul (UFMS), Campo Grande


Group of Democratic Studies (G.E.D./Cnpq), Philosophy-UFMS


 Following an investigation that has been made on the future of democracy, we try to answer the question "When it is legitimate to challenge public authority, or in other words, how to determine that a government is unjust and what means has the people at their disposal to answer it ? ". The question may seem to assume a predetermined answer that it is indeed legitimate to contest the public authority or national government, but it would be simplistic to assume such a premise. While most constitutions of democratic countries guarantee the right to rebellion of the people, the inheritance of political theory is more heterogeneous. Today, however, it is pertinent to question the type of relationship between democracy, authority, rebellion and resistance within its limits and conditions of legitimacy.

The international conferences held on the theme, being the first of a series, intend to offer a space for the reconstruction of the horizon of meaning from the history of political philosophy. We intend to identify the origin and mutations of the concepts of political authority, sovereignty, popular sovereignty, people, people, legitimacy, civil disobedience, resistance, rebellion, revolution, as well as working relations between concepts such as violence, power and legitimacy. On the other hand, we want to characterize the way in which the right to resistance and the right to civil disobedience, as specific rights guaranteed constitutionally, have been treated in the history of political philosophy, and more specifically how they have arrived until today, in a democratic context, and how they are treated in the contemporary world. Both moments will have as a starting point a critical reflection on the canonical works of several authors, past and contemporaneous. Our objective is to understand how the history of political theory can help us to better understand the dynamics of contemporary democracies, marked by a generalized context of a crisis of representativeness, lack of participation and diffusion of political actors in a transnational order that often forces us to question the limits and conditions of possibility of the democratic project itself.

In this first conference we will give priority to the philosophical narratives (in a broad sense, being able to include readings of other disciplines) historically located between the XV and XVIII centuries. Proposals can focus on authors from an individual or comparative perspective.

Some possible topics:

· Constitutive and constituent power

· People vs. crowd/masses/multitudes

· The place of rebellion and / or revolution

Some possible authors:


· Machiavelli

· Hobbes

· Margareth Cavendish

· Locke

· Espinosa

· Burke

· Montesquieu

· Rousseau

· Founding Fathers (Americans)

· Clarisse Coignet

· Mary Wollstonecraft

· Olympe de Gouges

· Kant

·      Among others

Submission of presentations and articles

 Until August 5 submit a presentation proposal, consisting of an expanded abstract (between 500 and 1000 words), 5 keywords and bibliography. In a separate document include full name, contact data (email and cell), institution. Proposals should be sent to:

Until August 12, proposals accepted will be announced.

· The role of the social contract

· Sovereignty

· Other narratives from the place of women in the history of philosophy (including analysis of the philosophical work of authors on the margins of the dominant canon, such as Margareth Cavendish, Mary Wollstonecraft, Clarisse Coignet, Olympe de Gouges, among others)

· Authority and political legitimacy.

· Republicanisms and liberalisms

· Proto-democracies

Confirmed Speakers: Dario Castiglione (Exeter University), Jorge Alvarez Yáguez (Complutense of Madrid), Marta Nunes da Costa (UFMS), Ricardo Pereira de Melo (UFMS), Amaro Fleck (UFLA), Janyne Sattler (UFSC).

Scientific Committee: Marta Nunes da Costa (UFMS), Ricardo Pereira de Melo (UFMS), Amaro Fleck (UFLA)

Organizing Committee: Marta Nunes da Costa, Ricardo Pereira de Melo.